[FIXED] Boxifier.exe flagged as malicious by Webroot SecureAnywhere?!

FYI, Webroot SecureAnywhere v9.0.7.46 now flags boxifier.exe in path c:\users\userID\appdata\roaming\boxifier as a malicious trojan and automatically quarantines the file. Note that I’ve been running both these programs together for many months with no problems, so it must be some new update in webroot’s identification system. I’m assuming that boxifier isn’t actually a trojan, so I’ve told the webroot UI to allow boxifier.exe permanently.

However there is an odd new behavior: boxifier.exe will suddenly disappear from my running tasks a few seconds after launch, the taskbar icon will go away, and windows right-click context menu says boxifier is not running… but all the sync functionality still remains in my boxified folders located outside of dropbox’s folder! Dropbox icons on boxified folders remain up-to-date, and dropbox runs real-time syncs with boxified folders just as if boxifier is running… but there is definitely no ‘boxifier.exe’ in windows task manager. I can literally watch it disappear from taskman, but all of its functions are still active. Very strange… any thoughts?

cheers!

Yes, a recent update of Webroot falsely detects Boxifier. Some of our customers contacted us regarding this and they also contacted Webroot which informed them about this being a false alarm. Here is the response that one of our customers received from Webroot:

Hello,

Thank you for submitting your report. We have examined the logs from
your system and found that the detected items were the result of a false
positive, and are not a threat. We have updated our security
definitions to address this.

You may un-quarantine and restore the file that was quarantined by the
Webroot SecureAnywhere software if you have not already done so. To
restore the file:

1. Open on the cog icon next to PC Security.
  1. Click the Quarantine tab.
  1. Click the check box next to the filename, then click Restore.